Catching Fire Light Smokey Eye Inspiration

20131126-004311.jpg Last Saturday the sisters, Oscar, and I went and saw Catching Fire. It was so much fun! The girls decided we would wear braids in our hair (mine sucked so it turned into an up-do) and I wanted to wear dark make-up. As tribute to District 12’s Coal Mining Industry (as if it’s a real thing! Haha!), I tried a light smokey eye. 20131126-004745.jpg The opportunities to wear eyeshadow never really exist in my everyday life (tear). I never do a full face of make up at work because nobody wears make up really there. I generally feel over-done when I do. Weekends are my make up catch up days! 🙂 I purchased Revlon’s Night Sky from their Diamond Lust Collection in honor of Make Up Saturday and wanted to pair it with some shades from my Naked 2 palette. Black eyeshadow scares the crap out of me so I wanted to overcome my fear as well. 20131126-004142.jpg 20131126-004200.jpg Steps 1) Prime Eyelid 2) Apply ‘Bootycall’ all over eyelid 3) Add ‘Half Baked’ mid eye to outer eye 4) Apply ‘Night Sky’ to outer eye. I apply it like I’m painting the letter C on my left eye and a backwards letter C on my right eye. 5) Add ‘Verve’ to inner eyes The key is to blend, blend, and blend some more. I used the Naked 2 default brush for the Naked colors and I used an eye buki brush for blending (bareMinerals). The glitter from Revlon’s Night Sky got all over my face but it was a good black shadow to start with. It’s not as pigmented as ‘Blackout’ which was great for a beginner like me. It gave me a chance to build my product. I finished with NYC’s liquid eyeliner in black (I also use the pearlized black shade if black is sold out). This is my go-to liner but it’s not the best for beginners. I’ve been using it for almost 5 years now but it was super difficult when I first started. It does do an amazing job for $2.79. 20131126-011519.jpg 20131126-005836.jpg It looks pretty normal here but I’m not sure I have the courage to incorporate it into an everyday look. This is my first pretty little make up thing for the blog. Hope you liked. xoxo, Lyss

Leave a Reply

