Nails

Looking back at 2013, I can honestly say that a lot has happened. My life changed dramatically and I enjoyed almost every moment. Despite the ups and occasional downs, one thing that was always changing was my polish color. Here’s a quick review of my year told through my color choices:

20131217-223930.jpg

Starting with January, I decided to do my college colors. My parents gave me an amazing graduation party and little did I know, it would be the last time I would see two members of my family. Life changes in an instant and I have to remind myself to cherish every moment.

20131217-222906.jpg
My mother and maid of honor took me dress shopping in January where I found “the dress”. I’m glad I had my nails done for the sake of this photo!

20131217-224057.jpg
This was the last time going to my regular salon. I found that I would have to re-paint my nails every week myself just because they would get nasty. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

20131217-222444.jpg
Fast forward to June when all the crazy wedding festivities began. I began trying out nail looks for the big day and here was one of the test runs. I got tons of compliments at my amazing bridal shower thrown by my maid of honor and fabulous sister in law. I switched salons and liked the quality of my nails better.

20131217-225533.jpg
Right before the wedding, I was feeling a little Beyonce-ish and went for a soft metallic gold and a Barbie pink. It was perfect for my bachelorette party! ❤️

20131217-224528.jpg
This is the only nail pic I can find on my phone for my wedding nails. This was taken the night before and I was so exhausted I drank my coffee in less than ten minutes. What a wonderful experience though! I am married to the man of my dreams!

20131217-225232.jpg
I wanted to do something fun for the end of summer so I chose the same Barbie pink I did for my bachelorette party on my ring fingers. This color was so summery and pretty! It was one of my favorite polishes.

20131217-225740.jpg
I was a bridesmaid three times this year and did purple nails for the first September wedding I was in. I wasn’t really into the color but it doesn’t look too bad in the photo.

20131217-225939.jpg
The next September wedding, the bride choose green nails. I’m not too into the crazy colors because of work. I do love this ring the bride gave me! I wear it everyday!

20131217-230221.jpg
A few days after the green, I re-did my nails to these colors and got tons of compliments. Granted my audience is high school girls, I still think it’s cool they like my style. Doesn’t make me feel super old.

20131217-231816.jpg
I did a blood-red for fall. It wasn’t really for any particular reason except how much I loved the color. It was amazing.

20131217-230507.jpg
For Thanksgiving, I chose a brown and gold. Please excuse my disgusting mirror. Oscar and I got our first house in October and we decided to throw Thanksgiving. My parents, in-laws, Grandma, sisters, and cousins celebrated the day with us and it was oh so wonderful!

20131217-230829.jpg
My last manicure of the year are my candy cane nails. They are super fun and were perfect for candy cane day at the school I work at! December is my favorite time of the year and I love being festive.

20131217-232022.jpg
I know I’m missing some manicures but these were the ones on my phone. I don’t know why I’m always taking pictures of my fingers and hands. I guess I justify it as being better than having tons of selfies on my Instagram. This year was a great year with lots of memorable events. I am so blessed and have lots of wonderful people in my life. I don’t think my manicures will ever be as eventful. I am looking forward to a nice relaxing 2014.
xoxo,
Lyss

Leave a Reply

