New Year!

20140108-004823.jpg

Happy belated New Year! A new year means new dreams. The new year is always so refreshing to me. I think about all the goals, dreams, and vacations I want to take during the year ahead. So this year, I’ve decided things will happen for my new family. I don’t know what’s going to happen but my fortune cookies tell me everything will be alright.

My goals for 2014:

To be more present and put away my phone. This was a resolution from last year and I did try very hard to work on this. I know at times I failed but I feel there was a huge improvement from 2012. As long as there is progress, I’m happy.

To be more in tune with my faith. I was so happy and nervous the day of my wedding that the church ceremony was sort of a blur. The priest said less than half way through the ceremony that we were married and the first thought I had was, “well I don’t feel any different.” I wouldn’t change anything about the ceremony because it was perfect, but I do feel guilty for only going to church a handful of times since I’ve been married. Maybe once I open up again to my faith, I will feel better. Actually, I know I will feel better.

Dreams for 2014:

To find a career. I love, love, love my job, but I would like security. I have learned so much and have met so many passionate people. Working for a university and high school is so rewarding. I would like for this job to turn into something of a career for me. That would be awesome! I think things are going to be shaken up a bit soon, but that’s always how the best drinks are made! 😉

To send Oscar to school. With a mortgage and all the bills associated with a home, it’s super hard to live on one income right now. Oscar has an amazing job he loves, but I think of all the students he would impact if he were to become a teacher. He would be a great principal one day too! Then I could retire early and become a YouTube beauty vlogger!

Vacation dreams for 2014:

These are just dreams right now. The way things are looking, there is no hope for a vacation. Maybe 2015 will make our vacation dreams at least a goal.

Mexico
My in-laws are getting remarried in Mexico this year and we are working on ways to go. It’s not looking to be feasible at all for us at the moment and there is no way we will borrow money for this trip. My in-laws are amazing people and I wish we could be there for them. We still have six or seven months so if I achieve one of my goals, us going to Mexico would definitely happen. I do miss one of Oscar’s super fun uncles and one of his cousins.

Vegas or Reno
Oscar and I had so much fun in Reno that we talk all the time about going back! That was one of the most inexpensive trips we have taken. It was perfect for our little pocketbook. But I have wanted to go to Vegas since I was about 20. It just looks, sounds, and feels like it would be a blast. Oscar and I may appear to be an old married couple, but when we are on vacation, we get down on the free drinks.

Hawaii
My ultimate dream is to visit Hawaii. It just seems beautiful and fun. It’s on my ‘Before Kids’ bucket list.

That’s all I have for today. I’m going to look back on this in December and I hope some things will have changed for the better. We will see.

xoxo,
Lyss

20140108-005016.jpg

20140108-005027.jpg

Leave a Reply

