Falling for Winter Trends

Brrrr it’s chilly in Washington right now! I’ve been scoping blogs and Pinterest for ideas on how to dress cute during this time of the year. I’ve come to the realization that the beautiful ladies of Pinterest live in a land where winters require no jacket.
Let’s be real. It’s FREEZING.
So I’ve come up with ideas of key pieces on trend to reuse between fall and winter. They are pieces I own/want to buy. When I am looking for fashionable things, I want to get something I know will be on trend for a few years. I don’t like to pay a lot either. I’m thinking along the lines of $20 and under max for pieces. After all I do work in education.

IMG_7709.JPG
The first piece that I have had for 4 winters now is my faux leather jacket. I paid $20 at Ross for it and it is so awesome to mix with. Chunky scarves in the winter or a light scarf in the fall take this jacket between seasons.
Leggings are the type of pants that you can wear with almost anything and they looks so good. They are also so comfy and perfect for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Or any occasion where you know you’re going to be eating a lot.
Black boots are perfect because they’re comfortable and stylish. They have been on trend for quite some time now and I don’t see them dying out for at least a couple more years.
Sequins are supposed to be big this year but I don’t have any place arrive in a full on sequin skirt or dress. That would be a little much. I do think that a sequence shirt or scarf is the perfect touch to an outfit.
I’ve also seen so many different looks Pinterest with plaid. It’s so cute and refreshing but also one of those trends that come in and out of style. I think I want to get a plaid scarf and button up shirt. I would wear the plaid button up shirt with white semi puffy vest. Pair it with leggings and boots and voila!
Oversized sweaters sound so amazing as well. It looks perfect for lounging around the house or going to visit my parents/ in-laws.

IMG_7702.JPG
For accessories I think keeping it simple it’s a good idea. Gloves that you will have forever, cute scarves, studded earrings, and sunglasses are all you will need this winter.
For make up I am loving neutrals eyeshadows and bold lip. I finally got on board with the trend and I love it. Also cannot forget to red nails! So classic!

Sadly, there is such a thing now as too much cheetah and leopard. A full on coat or pant might be disastrous, especially if they are fuzzy! A better alternative would be a cheetah scarf or bracelet. Also, zebra is so over. It belongs out of sight until it’s come back in 15 years.

Thanks for reading and hopefully you’re inspired!

Details

Places I buy clothes:
J.C. Pennys
Ross
Burlington Coat Factory
Old Navy

Current makeup brands:
Liner: L’Oreal Lineur Intense brush tip liquid
Foundation: Tarte Amazonian Clay
Bronzer: bare minerals warmth
Lip product fave: J Cat Beauty Wonder Lip Paint in Mad Splatter

Randoms:
Mood: Christmas-y
Drink of choice: Dutch Bros. Caramelizer
Color: black & gold
Song: You & I by One Direction
Perfume: Romance by Ralph Lauren
Nail color mood: dark reds, black, grey, navy
Saturday activity: second hand shopping & bazaars

Xoxo,
Lyss

Leave a Reply

